Knitting Paradise® - Knitting and Crochet Forum
Home | Knitting Digest | Active Topics | Search | Login | Register | Help
Why Would You Ever Want to Pay For Knitting and Crochet Patterns or Lessons When You Can Get All That for Free?
Read this:
 

We have some of the most skilled knitters and crocheters in the world posting patterns and techniques like you've never seen before. And some of them only post on our website and nowhere else, so you won't find these patterns anywhere else no matter how much time you spend searching! So keep reading.

If you are a beginner, intermediate, advanced, or a professional knitter or crocheter, then the benefits of signing up for our free weekly knitting e-mail newsletter are:

• We cover hand knitting, machine knitting, and crochet.

• Each week you'll be receiving new tips and techniques.

• Daily, you'll be receiving a knitting/crochet forum digest with the latest pictures, discussions and patterns.

• If you ever have a question or need help, you can always ask, and we'll cover your question in the following newsletter issue.

• Discover the fastest way to knit (and to crochet) a sock... while keeping the perfect heel and making sure the sock fits (not many knitters know this).

• Find out how to figure out how much yarn you need for a pattern if the pattern doesn't specify it (works for any project, a real life-saver sometimes).

• Learn how to pick up a dropped stitch, even from several rows below. It happens to absolutely everyone at some point. But don't worry, there exists a really simple fix.

• And if you ever run out of yarn, find out how to join any yarn in the middle of any project.

• If you can't find the pattern that you need, or if you don't know which pattern would be most appropriate for a specific project, then you can ask our other users to help you figure it out. We even have a dedicated "Pattern Requests" section on our website that's all about finding new patterns.

• The same goes for any problems and questions about specific techniques. We have experienced users who are always helping those in need with just the right advice.

Note to crocheters: We cover both knitting and crochet on our website. The name Knitting Paradise is just a matter of history of how this website was started. These days, close to 50% of content on our forum is about crochet. So it doesn't matter if you primarily knit or crochet (or if you only crochet), you'll still find just as many patterns, tips, and tutorials that are relevant to your specific interests.

• And of course, as I said it's all completely FREE!

• Let me repeat that. Since for some reason a lot of people contact us asking if the membership is really free: we are a social website for knitters and crocheters, so we don't sell anything, and we don't charge any fees. It's as simple as that.

Enter your name and e-mail address below, and you'll be instantly added to our knitting mailing list distribution. Right away, you'll get access to more knitting-related material (pictures, patterns, tips) than contained in all knitting books and magazines you could ever buy. And you'll get all that for free.

You'll be able to talk and share ideas with more knitters than you could meet if you attended all the largest trade shows. And you'll be able to do all that without leaving your house!

Don't delay! Join the best knitting and crochet community on the Internet.

First name:

E-mail address:

It's FREE, and you'll receive my first e-mail right away. Also, you'll get instant access to the most recent topics on our knitting forum: hundreds of great tips from other knitters and crocheters.

(The next digest will be released in just a few hours. So if you don't sign up now, you'll miss everything covered in it.)

 
Pictures
Yarn Bee Chrysalis scarves--finished
If you would like to post a reply, then please login (if you already have an account) or register (if you don't).
Page: <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Nov 19, 2011 20:26:38   #
Lorraine2651
 
I bought one ball of it in white, haven't used it as I am working on a hat to go with a potato chip scarf for my granddaughter for Christmas but if you'd read my scarves litany, I had the same problem with Paton's Pirouette. Like they ended a run and knotted it to the next. Very disappointed and still have to write the company or call. I did buy more and some of the Sashay last week.

For washing it I would put it into a fine mesh lingerie bag and throw it in the washer with other delicates and hang doubled to dry. Should be fine, and yes, Iwash my scarves often as I do my coats and vests. I have even washed prom and bridesmaids gowns with beads and such in my frontloader on handwash inside out and they come out beautiful. Then I know they are clean as dry cleaners use petroleum products, they are not really cleaned and put in with other's clothes. YUK. Only thing I won't do are suits as the padding and felt shrink, good luck, all will be fine.
 
Nov 19, 2011 21:34:12   #
AvonelleRed
 
I am currently making my second scarf with this same brand of yarn, and I haven't had any problems at all. This new one I am making is the same colors as the second picture you posted. The first one I made was solid white.

Sounds like you just got hold of a couple of bad skeins. I agree to write to the manufacturer and see if they can give you something to replace the yarn or make up for it.
Nov 19, 2011 22:05:17   #
wilnita
 
I too had knots in Red Heart Sashay and Bernat Twist and Twirl. I sent an e-mail to Red Heart but never heard from them . So I worked around the knots.
Nov 20, 2011 02:27:58   #
JudiBee
 
Rescue Mom wrote:
Hi Sorlenna - I also got some Chrysalis yarn (Mediterranean Blue from Hobby Lobby) and made a scarf. I found a dropped stitch the first time I started it. When I picked the stray stitch up, the whole dang thing from that point down came completely undone and fluttered into a pile in my lap! Imagine my surprise- still not sure what happened!! Undaunted, I started over and finally got it done. Looks nice, but I will not buy any more either. Too fiddly to work with. Fortunately I got mine with a 40% off coupon ($6.99 minus 40%). Got some other ruffled yarn from my LYS and it was better to work with and came out really well. For me the ruffled yarns are not extremely difficult to work with, but I MUST pay attention, which is hard for me - LOL! Your scarves are beautiful.
Hi Sorlenna - I also got some Chrysalis yarn (Medi... (show quote)


I was making a scarf from the Katia Triana Lux and got to within 1 or 2 rows from the end; got up to use the facilities; and foolishly left the scarf on the sofa which my Westie, Annie, found enticing and laid down on top of it. When I got back it had come off the needles and there was nothing I could do but unravel it to the end. Needless to say, Annie has been banned from the sofa for the rest of her life, which could have been shortened considerably if I hadn't taken a short walk. By the way, I had a skein of the Katia with a big knot in it, so beware.
Judi
Nov 20, 2011 07:23:32   #
Ali9407
 
JudiBee wrote:
Rescue Mom wrote:
Hi Sorlenna - I also got some Chrysalis yarn (Mediterranean Blue from Hobby Lobby) and made a scarf. I found a dropped stitch the first time I started it. When I picked the stray stitch up, the whole dang thing from that point down came completely undone and fluttered into a pile in my lap! Imagine my surprise- still not sure what happened!! Undaunted, I started over and finally got it done. Looks nice, but I will not buy any more either. Too fiddly to work with. Fortunately I got mine with a 40% off coupon ($6.99 minus 40%). Got some other ruffled yarn from my LYS and it was better to work with and came out really well. For me the ruffled yarns are not extremely difficult to work with, but I MUST pay attention, which is hard for me - LOL! Your scarves are beautiful.
Hi Sorlenna - I also got some Chrysalis yarn (Medi... (show quote)


I was making a scarf from the Katia Triana Lux and got to within 1 or 2 rows from the end; got up to use the facilities; and foolishly left the scarf on the sofa which my Westie, Annie, found enticing and laid down on top of it. When I got back it had come off the needles and there was nothing I could do but unravel it to the end. Needless to say, Annie has been banned from the sofa for the rest of her life, which could have been shortened considerably if I hadn't taken a short walk. By the way, I had a skein of the Katia with a big knot in it, so beware.
Judi
quote=Rescue Mom Hi Sorlenna - I also got some Ch... (show quote)


I can understand why a doggie would find it attractive. Be happy that it was not a cat that probably would have ripped it to shreds. It appears from all the postings that not only is a knot common but should be expected. The yarn that I used is made in China - so much for quality control. Happily I don't think it really makes a difference as the finished product will keep the dirty little secret.
Nov 20, 2011 14:03:36   #
knitpicky1
 
I want to thank you for such an easy pattern! I made the crochet version in no time. I forced myself to figure out the knitted version, but really didn't understand it until I'd done the crochet. The crochet is so much quicker! Thanks for sharing your pattern.
 
Nov 21, 2011 10:36:34   #
vsbanotto
 
Was this just on the purple one? I had the exact same problem with a skein of purple just last week. I was furious. Did the same things you did to 'fix' it. Frustrating.
Nov 21, 2011 10:40:42   #
Sorlenna (a regular here)
 
vsbanotto wrote:
Was this just on the purple one? I had the exact same problem with a skein of purple just last week. I was furious. Did the same things you did to 'fix' it. Frustrating.


One had a big hole from unraveling--I lost probably six inches of it due to that, and the other had a knot. Hearing all these other reports of knots and holes makes me not want to buy any of this yarn again...it is frustrating, and I haven't heard back on the feedback I sent the company.
Nov 21, 2011 10:44:46   #
Maya'sOma
 
Sorlenna wrote:
I just finished the two scarves, but I am not at all happy with this yarn, and I will not buy it again! The first skein had a big open hole in the middle of the skein where the yarn had come loose and unraveled; I thought, "Okay, this happens." I worked around the hole and finished the scarf. Then I started on the second one, and was about 2/3 of the way through when suddenly a knot appeared--this was not a knot from the yarn looping over itself, either. It was a knot tied to hide a big hole from an unraveled or broken part. I cut out the knot and sewed the ends together in the hope that it won't unravel. The label also has no care instructions--how can I tell the people I give these to how to wash or clean them? Grrr. Well, I've learned something, and here are the pictures.
I just finished the two scarves, but I am not at a... (show quote)


I sell a similar king of yarn as yours in the yarn shop where I help out. Ours is Rico Loopy yarn and the same problems have arisen with it too. Lots of knots and frayed parts are showing up in some of the skeins....far too many to be good. My employer just shrugs it off but I refund the money if they come in to complain as I feel the yarn is quite expensive and no one should have to fix holes and sew in knots in any yarns they purchase. It is not good enough. Ours is from a German company called Rico Designs. I personally don't like this kind of yarn at all but it has been popular with our customers and they don't deserve this kind of service from the makers of these impromptu fashion yarns.
Nov 21, 2011 12:00:20   #
JudiBee
 
Maya'sOma wrote:
Sorlenna wrote:
I just finished the two scarves, but I am not at all happy with this yarn, and I will not buy it again! The first skein had a big open hole in the middle of the skein where the yarn had come loose and unraveled; I thought, "Okay, this happens." I worked around the hole and finished the scarf. Then I started on the second one, and was about 2/3 of the way through when suddenly a knot appeared--this was not a knot from the yarn looping over itself, either. It was a knot tied to hide a big hole from an unraveled or broken part. I cut out the knot and sewed the ends together in the hope that it won't unravel. The label also has no care instructions--how can I tell the people I give these to how to wash or clean them? Grrr. Well, I've learned something, and here are the pictures.
I just finished the two scarves, but I am not at a... (show quote)


I sell a similar king of yarn as yours in the yarn shop where I help out. Ours is Rico Loopy yarn and the same problems have arisen with it too. Lots of knots and frayed parts are showing up in some of the skeins....far too many to be good. My employer just shrugs it off but I refund the money if they come in to complain as I feel the yarn is quite expensive and no one should have to fix holes and sew in knots in any yarns they purchase. It is not good enough. Ours is from a German company called Rico Designs. I personally don't like this kind of yarn at all but it has been popular with our customers and they don't deserve this kind of service from the makers of these impromptu fashion yarns.
quote=Sorlenna I just finished the two scarves, b... (show quote)


It's wonderful to hear of your wonderful customer service and caring attitude with your customers. Wish your store were close to me.
Nov 21, 2011 12:22:04   #
Ali9407
 
JudiBee wrote:
Maya'sOma wrote:
Sorlenna wrote:
I just finished the two scarves, but I am not at all happy with this yarn, and I will not buy it again! The first skein had a big open hole in the middle of the skein where the yarn had come loose and unraveled; I thought, "Okay, this happens." I worked around the hole and finished the scarf. Then I started on the second one, and was about 2/3 of the way through when suddenly a knot appeared--this was not a knot from the yarn looping over itself, either. It was a knot tied to hide a big hole from an unraveled or broken part. I cut out the knot and sewed the ends together in the hope that it won't unravel. The label also has no care instructions--how can I tell the people I give these to how to wash or clean them? Grrr. Well, I've learned something, and here are the pictures.
I just finished the two scarves, but I am not at a... (show quote)


I sell a similar king of yarn as yours in the yarn shop where I help out. Ours is Rico Loopy yarn and the same problems have arisen with it too. Lots of knots and frayed parts are showing up in some of the skeins....far too many to be good. My employer just shrugs it off but I refund the money if they come in to complain as I feel the yarn is quite expensive and no one should have to fix holes and sew in knots in any yarns they purchase. It is not good enough. Ours is from a German company called Rico Designs. I personally don't like this kind of yarn at all but it has been popular with our customers and they don't deserve this kind of service from the makers of these impromptu fashion yarns.
quote=Sorlenna I just finished the two scarves, b... (show quote)


It's wonderful to hear of your wonderful customer service and caring attitude with your customers. Wish your store were close to me.
quote=Maya'sOma quote=Sorlenna I just finished t... (show quote)


Nice to hear from an honest and caring retailer. The lady who paid $14 was really ripped off. It should never have been that much and be damaged to boot. I guess you can always complain to the vendor but they just tell their customer people to say (I apologize) and think that is good enough.
 
Nov 21, 2011 13:27:26   #
soneka (a regular here)
 
I just finished my first scarf with this yarn and it was flawless. Have one more skein to knit, but so far so good. It's quick, but then I'm anxious to start a potato chip scarf.
Nov 21, 2011 14:53:46   #
lponsford
 
I had that happen to me on Moda Brown they did not take the time to enev tie, it was like 2 or 3 feet. Needless to say this scarf I just finished smaller that normal.
Nov 26, 2011 05:20:39   #
andik
 
knitpicky1
would you be able to share the pattern for the crochet version or a site for it? I don't knit & would love to make some for Christmas gifts that are crocheted.
Thanks in advance for your assistance.

knitpicky1 wrote:
I want to thank you for such an easy pattern! I made the crochet version in no time. I forced myself to figure out the knitted version, but really didn't understand it until I'd done the crochet. The crochet is so much quicker! Thanks for sharing your pattern.
Nov 26, 2011 05:32:44   #
Windbeam
 
Lovely scarves. Also dislike when you are knitting with a yarn that is worsted to start with and ends up sport in places.
Page: <<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
          
Pictures
Home | Latest Digest | Back to Top | All Sections
Contact us | Privacy policy | Terms of use
KnittingParadise.com - Forum
Copyright 2004-2016 Knitting Paradise, Inc.