Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I am new to knitting thanks to my mom and she loves this site. I have a question regarding the directions for puff rib pattern. Row one says this: P2, *yo, k1, yo, P2; rep from star to end. 7 sts. What does 7 sts mean? What it is directing me to do? Thank you!

·
Registered
1,711 Posts
Kristinaaho said:
Hi everyone. I am new to knitting thanks to my mom and she loves this site. I have a question regarding the directions for puff rib pattern. Row one says this: P2, *yo, k1, yo, P2; rep from star to end. 7 sts. What does 7 sts mean? What it is directing me to do? Thank you!
The 7 sts just means that at the end of that row you will have 7 sts on your needles. Just a stitch count.

·
Registered
15,969 Posts
Kristinaaho said:
sts is an abbreviation for stitches.

·
Banned
23,386 Posts
Kristinaaho said:
Hi everyone. I am new to knitting thanks to my mom and she loves this site.
I have a question regarding the directions for puff rib pattern.
Row one says this: P2, *yo, k1, yo, P2; rep from star to end. 7 sts.
What does 7 sts mean? What it is directing me to do? Thank you!
The 7 stitches is what you will have when you complete the row.
http://www.knittingonthenet.com/stitches/puffrib.htm

·
Registered
5,401 Posts
The number at the end of a row states how many stitches you should have when the row is done. It is there for your confidence that you did the row correctly. It would help is the words "in all" were added.

Carol J.

·
Registered
23,691 Posts