Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am about to start a wingspan shawl that I am trying to make uniquely mine. I am going to use #10 needle, worsted weight self striping yarn, casting on 99 stitches, not sure yet how many stitches I'll use for the separate cast on rows, using a stockingknit stitch, enlarging holes w/ YOs, adding a row of beads between sections. I am not a designer in knitting so I am asking for some feedback from all of you who have altered patterns. Do you see any problems I may run into with these ideas? Also, what do you think of knitting a heart in the middle of each section? Over doing it? I look forward to any suggestions.

·
Registered
23,691 Posts
personally I think the yarn and the needle size will be fine.. not sure about the stitch count because I made mine several months back and don't know what the original count was supose to be.. if this is you first wingspan I would follow the directions and not do too much altering.. after you have made one then decided what you will do to make it yours... if you want to do it in SS stitch then you will need to put a edging on it... best of luck with this... I hope that anyone that has made this will post and help...

·
Registered
3,561 Posts