Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have only been knitting for 2 mos. and this is my first attempt at a sweater for my niece. (size 12 mos)

http://remoteimages.marymaxim.com/sites/us/production/images/freepatterns/6776P.pdf

I am knitting the first sleeve and as I cast off on every alternate row to reduce the stitches down from original 41 to 11, the raglan edge seems to be much longer on the sleeve than it does on the front left raglan edge or the back raglan edge. Is this because it's a hoodie? Am I missing something. Is it supposed to be like that or did I do something wrong somehow.

My first 'flag' was after starting the sleeve the pattern said to increase from 25 stitches until I got 41, and then cont. in stocking stitch until the piece measured 6 1/2" from the cast on edge. I got to 6 1/2 " before I got to 41 stitches but I figured the # of stitches was more important than the length and perhaps it was a typo in the pattern so i kept going til 41 stitches. At 41 stitches, my piece was 8".

I am using the right gauge as that was the first thing I always check so I know it's not that which is causing a longer raglan edge on the sleeve than everywhere else...

someone pls help.

·
Registered
3,893 Posts
If you increase 8 stitches twice on the knit side and then knit as is until reaching 6 1/2" I think you will be okay.

Yes, the back does look funny but stay with it and when it is finished you will see it all works out.

Don't change the pattern...

·
Registered
5,401 Posts