Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Very happy to have found this site. From the posts I have read, this appears to be a very friendly and helpful site. I have been knitting for about 8 years. My Grandma and Grandpa BOTH knitted and crocheted...Grandma had the worst finishing technique, lol and my Grandpa knit angora sweater coats for my mom, sweaters for my dad and the work was beautiful. It's hard to believe that I picked up the love for knitting at the age of 47, I would try and try and never could figure out why I couldn't make a stich, for real, no lie. My mother in law came over and I asked her what was I doing wrong,.. when I would try to purl I wasn't putting the yarn to the back...funny now but frustrating then. I would love to hear begginer stories..I practiced with one ball of yarn for a month. Knit some new stitch, rip it out, try another stitch, rip that out, oh yes I was the frogger pro...

·
Registered
7,116 Posts
((((((( LOL!! Great story!! Frogger pro, eh? TY for sharing and welcome!

Btw, you put your yarn to the front - not back - when purling in many methods particularly for the English throwing and Continental (German) method. Are you an English thrower?

The Eastern Continental method is one, I believe when the yarn stays in the back all the time for most common stitches. This was weird to me and I stayed with it to learn how to get those bumps where I wanted them! LOL!!

Trust me, there are many ways to knit. If you get a chance, draw up The E. Continental method. Maybe I have it bookmarked.....

This is the knit stitch - really, really short video and the purl one is there on the same page. It's short, too.

Have fun!!

Donna Rae
~~~~~~

s.thein