Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
11,389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I have been knitting for 44 years and crocheting for almost as long, I've really gotten into spinning this past year. I started out with a drop spindle a few years ago (now I have an interesting collection of unique spindles. Does anyone else spin?

·
Registered
286 Posts
I spin on two different wheels. My first love is an Ashford Elizabeth Double Drive which was given to me in kit form. I carefully sanded each part then lovingly applied an oil finish with no stain so the beauty of the natural wood would glow through the finish. I also have a travelling wheel which is a Merlin Tree HitchHiker. It fits in a large tote bag and spins exceptionally well for such a simple little, inexpensive wheel. I find spinning so relaxing and just love knitting with my handspun yarns.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I spin on a Ashford Traviler. I started with 1 bunny and a drop spindle 25 years ago. Who would ever have thought it would have bloomed into such hobby's as knitting, crocheting,felting and weaving. The last few years i have been learning to read patterns and charts.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Welcome sister-spinster! ! ! I spin (not as often as I used to) but I love it. Your results may not always be perfect, but know that you can always use them somewhere. Felted items are a great way to use less than perfect yarn. Shearing time is coming soon. Check with your local yarn shops, ask if they know of spinners. Also, check classified ads, local fairs.

·
Registered
161 Posts
I use a Kromski Sonota folding wheel. It comes with a travel case. I spin a super twist 2 ply bulky weight for just about all of my alpaca fleece lately (while wearing fingergless gloves) Between that and firewood I stayed warm this winter. My yard was full of robins this morning!!!!!!

·
Registered
1,412 Posts