Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 283 Posts

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many of you out there are going to do the 2012 Bernat Mystery Afghan Knit A Long? Here is a link for anyone not familiar with it

http://www.bernat.com/2012mysteryafghan/

I've never done anything like this before and think it will be fun. I did have a hard time deciding on my yarns, tho'. I don't have enough of anything appropriate in my stash, so I decided to order the Bernat. Locally, I only have a Hobby Lobby to buy from and they don't carry it.

The yarn arrived today and I must confess to being disappointed in the colors. If you look at the site, they have different colorways to chose from and for the most part I chose the "Simplicity" colors. When I first opened the box, the colors looked quite different than they looked online and I was most disappointed in 2 of them.....the Colonial Beige and the Butter. I was very happy, however with my selection of Pink Suede from the "Beautiful Things" colorway. I wanted to add a "peachy" color ad this looked more peach than pink in the pictures, and it actually is! Of course, once started writing this, I put a skein of each out and took a picture. Seeing them all together, I do like them all alot more than I originally thought. If I had been able to go to a store and see them in person, before buying them, I probably would have selected different colors, but these will be good, I think.

In my photo the colors from left to right, on the bottom, are Bark, Colonial Beige and Butter. On the top is the Pink Suede and Greek Sea. The Greek Sea is the main color.