Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have been knitting for 42 years and have not blocked before.i am making a shawl for my mother in law with mohair.it is rectangular and i will be adding crochet flowers and knitted stems.i am askingif there is any info about blocking mohair , and should i block before i add the flowers etc ,or block the finished item.i have looked at links but am reluctant to try as i dont want to damage the item.i am hoping that some one has already done this and can help me.thankyou in anticipation

·
Registered
5,079 Posts
Mohair should only be sprayed. So it wouldn't matter if you had the flowers on the shawl or not.

http://www.knitsimplemag.com/node/17

Mohair is weaker when wet. Pin & spritz. When all done, a good brushing will pull the halo up, soft & fuzzy.

·
Registered
101 Posts
I have just found this on a website:

Cashmere is extraordinarily fine, hence its legendary softness. It's more fragile and less elastic than wool, and gets weaker when wet. Just pin to dimensions, spritz until damp, and let dry.

I would do this and then add the flowers after it's dried, but do sample piece first. Good luck especially if it's for your mother in law, who I'm sure is a lovely person.

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
kay2906 said:
I have just found this on a website:

Cashmere is extraordinarily fine, hence its legendary softness. It's more fragile and less elastic than wool, and gets weaker when wet. Just pin to dimensions, spritz until damp, and let dry.

I would do this and then add the flowers after it's dried, but do sample piece first. Good luck especially if it's for your mother in law, who I'm sure is a lovely person.