Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m knitting Gingham Knit Blanket by Martha Stewart using Red Heart Soft in red and black. My strips are 22 stitches with yarn held double. So when I knit the black the strips are 8” wide but when I knit one strand black and one strand red the strip is 7 1/2” wide. So when I knit 2 strands red they will be slightly narrower than 7 1/2”. When I see the strips together will this difference in width make the afghan wobbly? If so what do I do to fix this? Also the rows aren’t the same the double black knit 34 rows is 7” and the red black of 34 rows are 6 1/2”. So will this work out or what should I do? I'm just beginning so would I be better off getting different yarn where the different colors are the same thickness? Thanks

·
Registered
12,472 Posts
Uh oh. You have run into different sized yarn due to color. Really no way of knowing this when you bought all this yarn in good faith. The color stripes will be different widths but uniform overall. I would continue as you are doing and accept that it might not be as uniform as you first intended but will be beautiful and unique.

·
Registered
359 Posts
I have knit three of this gingham pattern blankets by Martha Stewart. Love it! Never followed the instructions for the type of yarn or size needles. One with black and white, another with taupe and beige, and the third with taupe and white.The first with 2 strands bulky yarn and size 11needles. Gorgeous but quite heavy and large.