Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am using Caron one pound yarn medium 4 on a bulky singer 155. The pattern says to e wrap and then knit 1 row. I do this and the carriage jams every time. I tried changing the tension, cleaning the carriage, checking and changing needles. I have a new sponge bar. I am very new to machine knitting and I don' know anything about hand knitting so I am sure that I am doing something wrong. I am trying to follow Diane Sullivan's. Entrelac. She makes that look easy and fun. HA, HA. Can anyone think of something I am doing wrong. By the way, when I used scrap yarn to practice it did not jam and I believe they are the same thickness. Could it be the yarn ( bought at Joann's) or is it me? Thank you in advance for any help.

·
Registered
3,231 Posts
Have you tried pulling all the needles out to hold? Sometimes the first row is a little hard to knit.
If the scrap yarn knitted ok, I would try to knit a few rows with is, then knit one row with ravel cord, or a smooth cotton yarn, e-wrap with your garment yarn, put some weight on the scrap yarn part, and knit across. Hope I have made myself clear.
This is definitely the place to come for answers.
Good luck,

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
First a question (from my own experience): do you wrap conterclockwise? And make sure, you don't wrap tightly, as that will stop the carriage for sure. It should be loose, but the loops shouldn't "dangle". I made both mistakes, so I learned the hard way ;).
Ewrap will always be a little hard to go over, I have to use a tiny bit of force too with my Brother KX350.