Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4,189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I have been knitting for many years, I have not been able to get a nice finish when changing colors to do strips. The new color is always off at least 1 stitch at the beginning of a new round. So all you excellent KP knitters, can you tell me how to get the color change to line up correctly? Any and all help will be appreciated. I hope you will understand what I am talking about. Thanks heaps. Norita

·
Registered
5,169 Posts
norita willadsen said:
Although I have been knitting for many years, I have not been able to get a nice finish when changing colors to do strips. The new color is always off at least 1 stitch at the beginning of a new round. So all you excellent KP knitters, can you tell me how to get the color change to line up correctly? Any and all help will be appreciated. I hope you will understand what I am talking about. Thanks heaps. Norita
You want a jogless join for the new color. Knitting in the round is really a spiral, so it's one row off.

When you are ready for a new color:
--Start knitting with the new color at the beginning of the round.
--Next round, slip the first stitch of the new color.
--Continue knitting as usual.

Wa-laa, a jogless color join.

·
Registered
575 Posts
in youtube they have an excellent video on how to do that. i can't give you the link, don't have time to look it up, but seen it the other night. seems like you slip the stitch, but i can't remember, but that gal did an great job, so you could really see what she was doing...sorry i can't get the link for you...

·
Registered
29 Posts
The slip stitch method is quick and easy but sometimes causes a slight pull in the fabric. I actually prefer this method for jobless stripes: