Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 129 Posts

·
Banned
13,778 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am sure I am going to get yelled at here. I always do when I bring up this subject. LOL

I am not a lawyer and give all my patterns away for free. I think of it as Karma... payback for all the hundreds of patterns I have downloaded and used that others have shared for free. Just makes sense to me. Plus, I don't want the hassle of selling patterns, people contacting me asking questions, etc. My own bag.

I recently visited my LYS and saw a beautiful giant cowl that had been knitted by the shop owner. I asked about the pattern and she said it was available free with purchase of the yarn ONLY. I loved it so much that I didn't blink at paying $75.00 for a small yardage of yarn to make the cowl and happily went home with pattern in hand.

As I was knitting the cowl, I made a couple of minor modifications.

As I knew I would be posting on KP I also searched the internet for the pattern as I knew inevitably someone on here may ask where it came from and could they buy it. I cannot find it anywhere. There is no copyright information on the pattern, so I contacted the shop owner and she said that she received the pattern from someone else and didn't feel comfortable "selling" the pattern but did offer it free with the yarn.

The pattern is called Chunky Neck Warmer and has "Polder Knits" printed at the top. The pattern is partially hand-written and partially typed. There are also notes (assumably made by the shop owner as she knit it) hand written on the edges.

This copyright situation is never cut and dry for some reason. While I would never want to take money out of the hands of designers who WANT to make a profit from their designs.... a couple of comments from "those in the know" would be greatly appreciated.