Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just learning how to crochet after being a knitter for over 50 years. It has been a bit of a slow process as I crochet left handed, but with the help of on line tutorials and a lot of patient practice I am making progress. In a basic crocheted article like a scarf or blanket that is done in the same stitch, is there a right and wrong side? To me, it looks the same. I am making a crocheted baby blanket in double crochet( Australian version) but using 2 strands of yarn and a size 8.00 crochet hook as per the pattern( I believe this stitch is called something different in the US??). My work looks like the photo in the pattern and both sides look the same. I was just wondering if basic crochet does have a right and "wrong" side as knitting does...not that it really matters, I suppose. Or is it the same as garter stitch whereby both sides look the same?

·
Registered
13,787 Posts
It depends on whether you go through the back loop, front loop, or both - sometimes the pattern will decide for you - look at the crocheted flower patterns.

·
Banned
23,386 Posts
With basic crochet stitches, the result is the same on both sides.
If the pattern states for example that Row 1 is the right side,
just mark that side with a piece of scrap yarn looped through the front loop of a chain
to give you reference while you complete the item.

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·