Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
447 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you thank you!! Everyone on here is always so helpful. I wish I could find a live person that could help me! I have a TERRIBLE time with my slip stitch! It is always messy or cant tell what I am doing with it or it twists if it is a long chain...heading to YouTube on that one I think!
Thanks again for your site reference. There are tons of them.
Carolyn

·
Registered
861 Posts
oregoncaro said:
Does anyone have any simple patterns for Port Holders? I am a beginner and I want to make some for my great niece. Thanks
OregonCaro aka Carolyn
Go to search at the top of this forum and type in Crochet Pot Holder. You might find something there.

·
Registered
8,233 Posts
oregoncaro said:
Thats a great idea! oes it have to be cotton thread?
Carolyn
If you use acrylic, the heat of a pot could melt it.

·
Registered
362 Posts
I have crocheted hotpads out of regular worsted weight acrylic yarn and have never had a problem with melting, even with the pan taken directly from the oven or stove. I like the crochet one where you chain, then single crochet around both sides, then it kinda folds in half to form a square that looks to be crocheted on the diagonal. It was very simple. I gotta look to see where I found directions.
Tammy

·
Registered
688 Posts
MoreToDo said:
The pattren for the diagonal hot pad can be found on http://www.mielkesfarm.com/diagonal_hotpad.htm I have made a few using acrylic yarn and they have been fine. In fact I still have a few that my Mom made and that was years ago.