Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all-

I am very new to knitting, I am attempting to make a headwrap for winter. Here is my problem - I cast on 13 stitches - first and last are pearl, the middle is knit stitch. I read that if you put a different stitch (pearl) on the beginning and end it won't curl, but mine is curling! what am I doing wrong.
Appreciate any help.

·
Registered
522 Posts
Maybe you should have at least 3 stitches each end using the alternate - work them as moss stitch :p k1, p1, k1 on the purl row, and p1, k1, p1 on the knit row
or just knit w2 stitches at beginning and end of every row

Grosvenor, Lindfield, Australia

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
than you so much, it makes sense to me that maybe I need more of border stitch to make the difference. I really want to be a success at my first project, accomplisment and all that. Have a beautiful day. cindi

·
Registered
2,284 Posts
virgogirl16 said:
Jill2

would that be : knit, pearl all the way across, and then when I turn the piece the opposite : pearl knit?[/quote

After turning the piece you will be knitting the purls and purling the knits...

Since you are starting with an odd stitch count (13) every row will be the same:

K p k p k p k p k p k p k

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
SanRay said:
I am having the same problem, but my pattern is for 5 knit rows then start the pattern - stocking stich 1 row purl 1 row knit. How do I stop the edge curling? this is for a ladies cardigan.
i get that trouble have tried every way i can think of but still curls

·
Registered
5,925 Posts