Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 98 Posts

· Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am trying to make my first crocheted project, and already I am stumped. After chaining and single crocheting the first row, the second row says to sc in 1st sc, but the next part is not clear to me at all. It says to skip next sc, dc and sc in next sc. How in the world do I do that? I can surely use help with this, please.

· Registered
8,264 Posts
jjeltzroth said:
Oh, gosh, I really don't know what you are asking....sorry.....I told you that I am totally new at this.
Do you have a picture of the finished project?
Can you copy and paste the directions?

The pink hook is the sc you skip
The blue hook is the sc you dc.

Or are you asking how to double crochet?
Here's how to double crochet video:
Still shot
http://crochet.about.com/library/bldoublecrochet.htm
Step-by-step still shots
http://crochet.about.com/od/learntocrochet/ss/DoubleCrochet_2.htm

I may be missing your question altogether :)

· Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
My question is can you double crochet and then single crochet in the same stitch? I've not run across that when practicing my stitches. I'm sorry I'm so stupid. I finally figured out that you were probably pointing out the skipped stitch with your needle, etc. At first I didn't know why there were so many needles in your picture. I will see if I can get a picture of the dishcloth. Not sure I can do that, but will try.

· Registered
591 Posts
jjeltzroth said:
My question is can you double crochet and then single crochet in the same stitch? I've not run across that when practicing my stitches. I'm sorry I'm so stupid. I finally figured out that you were probably pointing out the skipped stitch with your needle, etc. At first I didn't know why there were so many needles in your picture. I will see if I can get a picture of the dishcloth. Not sure I can do that, but will try.