Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I love the look of a lot of the free patterns on the Drop website. But they are so complicated to understand
Especially the ones with charts, most of the time they charts dont even have numbers beside the rows so i couldnt even figure out how many rows and when does the pattern start!

A nightmare

As anyone else had the same problem

·
Registered
98 Posts
I have been knitting for almost 50 years and I feel the same way about Drops pattern instructions. I have even tried writing them out but it's just not worth the time and trouble. There are so many sites with free instructions that are much easier to follow. My favorites are Ravelry and Knitting Pattern Central.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Yes, there are difficulties...I wantd to make a jacket but found, half way through, that the tension meant that I was using more wool than the calculation of the amount "recommended"...and I notice now that there is a warning about this on the patterns. Just about to try and make some felted slippers....so here's hoping I get it right this time!!

·
Registered
313 Posts
Paton's patterns are the same way. I am working on a sweater that so far, I have had to both tink and frog several times. I am learning on this pattern that sometimes perfection isn't necessary. Here is the pattern.
http://www.patonsyarns.com/pattern.php?PID=4283
I am figuring it out, but being somewhat new, it is taking time and patience.
Sorry, the link requires a free membership to view.

·
Registered
12,214 Posts
Congrats to you for trying this pattern! Arans are always complicated for a new knitter. I find it much easier to knit an aran from a chart, which your pattern doesn't include. Use markers and notes with sticky notes to help you keep your place.