Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 166 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started knitting recently, and feel very discouraged. Although I have completed a few small projects, I seem to make so many mistakes. I usually don't know what I've done or how to fix them. I try so hard, but then I see other people who have been knitting only a couple of years, who have created one gorgeous, complicated project after another. It's very discouraging! Is artistic ability required for knitting? Because, I don't have a shred of artsy/craftsy genes! Am I wasting my time?

·
Registered
553 Posts
Hang in there It is not a lost cause. Utube has a lot of videos that show you how to knit. I just got the book Knitting for Dummies at Books a Million and I have been knitting for many many years. About 55 to be exact. So don't give up and just keep trying and use your computer. Google can help with anything you need and also use the videos on utube. It's not hard.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
Hang in there....I am also afraid to make mistakes, because it scares me to death to try and fix them...I always have to start over. I walked into our local yarn shop and asked the question..."do you ever teach classes on fixing mistakes". They kind of laughed and said they never had before. A couple weeks later, I looked on their web-site and guess what. A class was being offered just what I asked for. I signed up for it along with 5 other ladies. I took the class this week and learned a lot in just 2 hours. I've been practicing making mistakes this week and trying to fix them. Some I do, some I don't. Ask if someone at your LYS can help you. I bet you, just might be surprised at the help you will recieve. The moral of this story...don't give up.

·
Registered
7,116 Posts