Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone ! I would like to thank all those that post pictures of their projects ! I so enjoy seeing what people are accomplishing !
I would like to know what the rules are for TRAVELING ? / Flying with ones knitting ? Can one take their project on the plane or does one have to stash it in the luggage ? It would be so nice to be able to knit on these long flights ! Just a long day !! Thanks for your help !

·
Registered
11,389 Posts
Current TSA regulations allow for knitting needles...HOWEVER any TSA agent can make a decision to not allow a passenger to carry on any item they feel is dangerous. I work in the airline industry.

Best advice..put your project on cheap needles, install a lifeline, pack your good needles in your checked baggage. If you are asked to remove your needles you won't lose any work.

also, regulations can change at a moments notice. Be prepared.

·
Registered
7,116 Posts
(((((((( Welcome to the group!

As alert standings change with no warning, I just call our airport just before leaving to find the newest r & r governing the things I like to take; knitting and crocheting, etc. I also check to see if the flight is on schedule.

Once, they didn't have a pilot! LOL!! A couple people had missed the fact that the gate number had changed and deplayed the flight a few minutes and were admonished by the titcket taker. They get on board and the announcment comes saying, "We have no pilot; One is arriving in 20 minutes".

The pilot arrived in 20 minutes, we took off and arrived on time! LOL!! I still wonder if the pilot had missed the info of the gate change, too!

I leave good scissors in stored luggage and clip nail clippers to the tote bags handles; No digging.