Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to knitting and a neighbor just gave me her left over pieces of yarn to learn with. I think some are big enough to make baby items with, however most of the yarn is very fine (fingering?). Any suggestions of things I could make using fine yarn? I am interested in baby things so I can donate them to charities. I love Knitting Paradise as I am learning so much and am amazed at the help people are willing to share with others. Looking forward to your response. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
You will need to google- a lot !!
If yarn is true lace weight it will be a 1 in weight charts-
If you want to make a baby item , you will need to double or triple up, unless you want to do a lacey style blanket.
A great place to go for any knitter for research in patterns is Knitting Pattern Central, which is a library of FREE knitting patterns-once you get to the website-you can specify search-and go to Scarf, Hats, Baby Items, Afghans etc etc
there are many websites that offer free or otherwise but this is my go to site first
also Bernat and Patons have a plethera of free patterns-all you have to do is become a member, ie-email address and password to log in to site-advice -use a password NOT the same as password for actual email-and make it the same for every site-I learned the hard way but hey-I learned-
also Ravelry is an awesome site for ideas and patterns BUT some are free and some $$$$$$ --ok ?
hope this helps :):)

·
Registered
1,004 Posts
knittingismyhobby said: