Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been knitting for at least 75 years. Started in New England, then New York, New Jersey, and now retired in Pennsylvania. Specialty is Nordic mittens that I knit from Lion Brand Woolease. The patterns are in a book from the 1940's called "Jiffy Mittens" An eye problem kept me away, but I couldn't stay away. This "Knit-wit" missed it!
Also, I'm teaching myself to knit continental. Made 10 dish cloths while practicing.
Hint: For the closure of mittens or hats, instead of pulling yarn through remaining stitches with a yarn needle as is usually suggested, put the stitches on a crochet hook and pull a yarn loop thru them, Then, pull the tail thru this loop and tighten. Thus, there is double thread through the sitches, Much stronger. Enjoy!

·
Registered
54 Posts
Hi Brownie
Welcome to the forum. I am almost as old, 69. I dropped knitting many years ago and just got back into it again. I am making hats for 44 retarded adults for Christmas. It is nice to do while watching TV, which doesn't have much on anymore worth watching. I am from Illinois. Thanks for the tip it is something that I can use on my projects.
Blessings
Pat

·
Registered
978 Posts
peace said:
Hi Brownie
Welcome to the forum. I am almost as old, 69. I dropped knitting many years ago and just got back into it again. I am making hats for 44 retarded adults for Christmas. It is nice to do while watching TV, which doesn't have much on anymore worth watching. I am from Illinois. Thanks for the tip it is something that I can use on my projects.
Blessings
Pat
Hi Ladies me too I'm 62 and do hats, scarfs and mittens for Arkansas Children's Hospital

You are right Pat, definitely garbage on tv these days. LOL

Liinda - (Sebastian, Fla)

·
Registered
978 Posts
I make quite a few mostly crocheted because it is so much quicker. I got the patterns on Lionbrand.com; knittingabout.com; etc.