Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
7,116 Posts
(((((((( I've been an advanced beginning knitter since 1970! Forthy-one years. @@ LOL! Hand knitting, I should say. Crocheting took over in 1973 but I didn't quit knitting.

If by designing one means making an existing pattern one's own, been there; Done that. If free-forming, it will be in your head eventually and one can run with it.

Pattern writing (putting the pen to paper) is an art in of itself, eh? Spell check doesn't help much. ((; LOL!!
~~~~~~~~
courier770 said:
I've been knitting for 44 years and crocheting almost as long. In the past year I've started to spin and am finding myself more and more involved in pattern designing. How about you?

·
Registered
517 Posts
I have only been knitting for about 6 months now after learning the basics 40 years ago. I have crocheted off and on over the years. I'm lucky to be able to follow a pattern let alone design and write on. Good luck on the copyrights, that is so exciting.

·
Registered
11,389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It is very exciting...more than that it's very satisfying. I now find myself, spinning yarn and designing patterns to knit that yarn into! Though I have to say, I believe this is a rather natural progression.

·
Registered
11,389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
galaxy, then you are ready to start writing your own patterns! My late sister knitted when she was young but stopped for many years. Late in life she took it back up (to help ease some stress). She found that she didn't like some of the patterns out there and started writing her own to suit her needs. It really is a natural progression of the fiber crafts.

·
Banned
23,386 Posts
I have dabbled a bit on small items of my own creation.
Or made adjustments to existing patterns.
Or changed hem edgings and/or collars to suit my tastes.
I have "created" many afghans, but never thought to actually
write a pattern out for public use -- not to mention