Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been knitting for a few years but have only made afghans, scarves, dishcloths, and a few sweaters.
I'd love to make some socks but I've always thought the heels of hand knitted socks look clunky and ruins the look of the whole sock, so I've never bothered to make any, since I knew I wouldn't be happy.

Is there a 'smoother' and a nicer looking heel pattern? One that looks like it wasn't a pattern mistake (to me)?

Edited---I just re-googled and found info for a spiral tube sock. That certainly sounds like it would be better looking to me.
Has anyone tried that? Did it wear well?

·
Registered
10,064 Posts
been using this since i was a kid, one of the first things i learned to knit from a French Canadian woman who had been making them since she was a kid....she said her mother had 14 children and that she had a sock on her needles and walked around with it in her apron pocket all the time, knitting a few stitches whenever she could...the socks are unisex and unisize so it didn't mattern who got what sox in the morning...she says they wear longer, too, as the heel is in a different place all the time....
I found this online .... no need to type up...i haven't had a written pattern for years....so i have included all her 'credit' lines...remember the spiral in the name....the pattern is not supposed to line up...just so you don't think you're doing something wrong...

Pamel Johnson-Welsh
MAGIC SPIRAL TUBE SOCKS

I love this pattern it is one that you don't have to make a heel for so it is sorta like an almost one size fits most pattern. I have knitted this for years. I have used this pattern to make socks for various charities along with family and friends and myself. The socks are not only fun to make but very warm too. Teens especially love the style and colors that are created when making this type of sock. Teens can also knit this sock too.