Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all my fellow KPers,

I have been knitting for many years now, so I think I'm quite experienced. However, I need some help with a problem.

I am married to a very lovely, but very portly man (he loves his food) and dispite looking far and wide for a knitting pattern to fit him, I have drawn a blank! He is currently a
7XL, and usually gets his clothing from a Big & Tall outlet.
I am aware that the task is quite a challenge even for the most experienced knitter! But he keeps asking when will I make him something?

Do any of you know of a site that has patterns which caters for this size of gentleman?

I did think of calculating the stitches needed from a pattern I already have, but I am unsure how to do this and would hate to make the jumper to small!

I wait on tender hooks to hear your advice!

Nigglynellie.

·
Registered
492 Posts
I have a son who is 6'7" and his sweater/shirt size is a 4xl tall. I feel your pain.
I've simply had to do the math. I've made him several aran sweaters and am working on a hoodie for him for Christmas.
I'm afraid your just going to have to get out a pencil and paper. Good luck.

·
Registered
149 Posts

·
Registered
492 Posts
Those links are great! Very helpful for me as well as the op.
As for my pup, her name is Maggie, she has grown a bit since that picture. She's a Great Pyrenees, currently 9 months old, 31 inches tall and 110 pounds! But she's still a sweetie.

·
Registered
1,668 Posts
Loraia said:
This book http://www.amazon.com/Knitting-Without-Tears-Easy-Follow/dp/0684135051?linkCode=wsw&tag=laptops247-20 will make your life easier. Maybe you can get a copy from your library. Check the reviews at amazon for a good read on this one.