Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new at knitting. I have knitted a hat(very simple one).I have knitted a couple of scarves, just knit and purl.I would love to knit the "Ohio State University Dishcloth". The directions say B5--*K1,p1* for 5 border stiches. ??? If I repeat from the "*" wouldn't that be 6 stitches!!! The dishcloth in other words has a border around it. Example after the 5th row it says B5,K29,B5. You cast on 39. I am sorry I just don't get the "5" border stitches. After I get this done, I am like everyone else and want to do fingerless gloves next and leg warmers. Are they too hard for a beginner. I am ecstatic over this site. Since I have joined I have not got anything done. I have done nothing except read every single entry on this site. How do I bookmark something. Sorry did not mean to go on and on. I am just sooooo excited. Would love to get started on the dishcloth.Thank you so much

·
Registered
20,946 Posts
HI Eileen,
Welcome.
I do believe that the blanket does have a 5 st border. Just go for it as long as it looks about right.

I think you should be able to make the fingerless gloves. You have nothing to loose, but a little time. We are all professionals at ripping out. Goes with the territory and the only way to learn.
Don't be intimidated. This is fun to do and Relaxing??? Well most of the time, haha.

And this site has so many masters of the craft, someone will be here to help.

Good lick,
Linda

·
Registered
4,735 Posts
Hi Eileen