Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello my name is florecilla I'm starting a knit sampler afghan
I have the patterns there free at redheart.com the only thing is that I'm new at kniting and I dont know how to knit the
bell and rib square 8 stitch k2, k1,*p2, cast on 4 sts,p2, k1; repeat * to last 2 sts, k2. I dont know how to cast on while doing the pattern :( please help

Attachments

·
Premium Member
13,046 Posts
There are a number of ways to cast on stitches in the middle of a row (or at the beginning or end). If the pattern does not specify which technique to use I like the backward loop cast-on. Here is a video of the technique:

You would skip the slip-knot part since you already have work on your needle. Just start with the next step of making loops and placing them on the needle. Here is another video example:

·
Registered
7,116 Posts
TY for sending in the pattern, too:

Row 7: K2, k1, *p2, cast on 4 sts, p2, k1; repeat from * to
last 2 sts, k2.

Couple of ways to CO in midstream and assuming you're a Continental knitter versos English thrower. Also this CO method is used at the very beginning set up, too but you can use it in the middle of your row, too. I'm fairly sure, that is! LOL!!:

http://www.google.com/#q=cable+cast+on+continental&hl=en&prmd=ivnsb&source=univ&tbs=vid:1&tbo=u&sa=X&ei=h45tTeKkF4T58AaNz-CMDQ&ved=0CDwQqwQ&bav=on.2,or.&fp=e63e90ac70623278

There's a thumb method, too. It depends on the look you want; Perhaps a M1 (make 1) is what you want, etc.

Good Luck!
~~~~~~~

florecilla said:
I have the patterns there free at redheart.com the only thing is that I'm new at kniting and I dont know how to knit the
bell and rib square 8 stitch k2, k1,*p2, cast on 4 sts,p2, k1; repeat * to last 2 sts, k2. I dont know how to cast on while doing the pattern :( please help

·
Registered
5,813 Posts
florecilla,