Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
11,389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I have been knitting for 40+ years, I well remember those early days.

While yarn, needles and pattern will generally suffice..there are tools that you can make knitting or crocheting "easier" for novices. I've listed some below:

Good lighting! I now use an adjustable halogen lamp on a table next to my sofa...but make sure you have good lighting to work in. An old gooseneck desk lamp or one of those little clip on reading lamps can really be Heaven sent.

Note pad and pen/pencil...to keep track of rows, increases, decreases, etc. My mother was a great believer in reusing paper grocery bags and kept one or part of one handy when she knitted. Nothing fancy is needed.

Stitch markers! So versatile, so important. You can fashion them from scraps of contrasting yarn, pieces of bread bag twist ties...or just little plastic rings from the drapery department of your fabric store. I like to make stitch markers as gifts for good friends and family by using "jump" rings or split rings from the craft store and I add a charm for fun or a bead..the rings themselves are cheap and work just as well without a bead. If you opt to use scraps of yarn..remember that some yarns will shed dye and could stain your project.

Accurate tape measure or ruler..I couldn't and wouldn't knit without one handy.

Sharp scissors!

Yarn bag! Yes this sounds extravagant...it doesn't need to be! A large zip lock bag will work! You want to protect your project from dust, insects...aromas and pet hair. When people think of "aromas" they think of smoking..but your yarn or project can pick up the aromas of cooking, perfumes, aftershave, etc..