Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am somewhat new to knitting, self taught, you tube is great.
I am knitting right handed american fashion and trying to learn to knit continental which I am finding extremely difficult. Anyone have any helpful tips on learning to knit this style

·
Registered
306 Posts
I have also tried the continental method. For me.. that method seems easier and probably quicker especially for ribbing and since I was a crocheter first, it seemed to be more comfy to me. but.... it didn't feel like i was knitting.. I wanted a feel and look like I was knitting. :D I wanted to knit so bad. To me (and that is only my opinion) it was too much like crocheting.
I envy people who can use both methods and be comfy at it.
for right now I will stick to one method until I feel I can get that right. :lol:
good luck and post your progress.

·
Registered
7,116 Posts
culshafer said:
I am knitting right handed american fashion and trying to learn to knit continental which I am finding extremely difficult. Anyone have any helpful tips on learning to knit this style
((((((( I converted from English (American) off and on in these past 16 months and found it took awhile. I stayed with the knit stitch over nine stitches and made a garter stitch belt then triple knot fringed it. I also kept a practice swatch going to keep me refreshed. Making something while practicing inspired me to continue.

After being confortable with the knit stitch, I went onto purl and found the dip down finger method too cumbersome and chose to put a free finger on top of the loop/needle rather than go all the way down - that was consistent for me in not having the purl stitch slip off the needle.

As purling was harder for me, I had to work on it more.