Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just watched Kristine Nicholes on the program Knit and Crochet Now. She sometimes knits in the front loop, other times in back loop, this on the right side of the work both times. When knitting two together she did the front loop, knit three together did back loop. Doesn't it make a difference which loop you use?

Thanks for advice, I've been knitting for a few years and this threw me for a little blip in thinking.

·
Registered
443 Posts
The difference is that knitting through the back loop gives the stitch a slight twist which is sometimes a design feature.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
She changes just sporadically in the middle of the row as far as I can tell. Knits in back loop 7 stitches, does a ssk, the knits in the front loop for the restore the row. Just was giving me some confusion.

·
Registered
20,400 Posts
I couldn't find a video with her knitting. All I found was a podcast and skipping through there seemed to be no actual knitting taking place. Is there a link for one maybe? What appears to be random loop choice might not be. I read a suggestion to work a stitch that will be part of a decrease on the next row so that it's already turned as would happen if you sl 1 pw in an improved ssk. There could be other reasons including working a knit after a purl differently.

·
Registered
792 Posts
When you knit, you want to knit in the front right leg of the stitch. Sometimes you can get the stitch twisted and you have to knit in the back of the stitch to straighten it out. There are other times you want to knit in the back of the stitch to get a twist. I have also seen when knitting continental style the way the stitch is wrapped can result in the knit stitch with the right leg of the stitch to the back of the needle, thus you'd have to knit in the back to avoid the twisted stitch.

·
Registered
11,098 Posts