Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 125 Posts

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last year I had a total nervous collapse (stress after caring for Alzheimers husband for quite some time.) I'm almost ashamed to admit this because I've always strutted around saying "I'm a capable, competent woman..."; it's a shock to find you aren't any more! A friend asked me to knit a baby jacket.. using a pattern I've used several times in the past, and it is NOT a complex pattern... medium difficult I would say. And I have been knitting since I was 3 yrs and 4 months old... I'm now 83!!! and I am horrified to find that I just can't follow the pattern correctly now... I've made 8 starts and have done 8 complete undo's! I was unutterably sad to contemplate the thought that I'd "lost" my knitting abilities (nowadays I only knit items for my favourite animal sanctuary/rescue/rehome charity to sell to help raise funds). Luckily I tried crocheting (which I didn't learn till I was mid-20s). Hooray! Thank goodness! I can still manage crocheting!!! So can still make things for the animal charity to sell!

·
Registered
13,306 Posts
Hopefully your knitting skills will come back. Since you've had so much stress and a total collapse afterwards, it's possible that it will just take time for the brain to heal. I wouldn't be ashamed at all. I'm sure what you've gone through was extremely difficult and very stressful.

·
Registered
207 Posts