Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Actually , I just taught myself about 5 days ago. And just a few days prior to that I taught myself how to knit with dpns to my joy. I have wanted to know how to knit since I was 22 yrs old and am now 63. But, a year and a half ago I finally figured it out. I'm still learning. And I know that this is not something set in stone that it has to be done one way. Although I have crocheted since I was 12, I really love knitting. I get such a sense of pride and satisfaction from the work.

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Jenny I don't have a pattern. I guess you could say it was my own. But I can't take all the credit. These are made from a gathering of thoughts from other patterns. I have never written a pattern but I surely wouldn't care to share what I did with these. And I try to explain as follows:
I used size 7 needles , These will fit a med. to large
Cast on 32 using German Twisted cast on. There is a new way to cast on just for rib stitch on You tube and I think it was called "the stretchiest cast on ever".
and it truly is;
Knit 2x2 rib stitch for 26 rows
Knit 1 row
Knit row 2 appplying beads as you go to the even number stitch. Such as stitch #2 apply bead skip a stitch apply bead stitch #4 and so on.
Then on the next Row 3 apply beads to knit stitch on the odd stitches. I used the
technique of placing the beads using a crochet hook. I
think you can see this done at KnitPicks
Row 4 knit all stitches
Row 5 knit 16 stitches place stitch marker M1,K1
Row 6 (if using magic loop) K1, M1 place marker then k16
continue to do this until you have 12 stitches between your markers.