Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi,
i really need help please. I am new to machine knitting and have followed the instructions and watched video's on u tube but just can not get to cast on and knit a row. I am using the cast on comb as was instructed.
Do you leave the cast on comb attached to the knitting? It seems that I need to remove it to get any knitting done. I have wasted so much yarn and am at a loss now.
Many thanks

Dee

·
Registered
51 Posts
Dear Mummycrafts,

If you look on the website for the Guild of Machine Knitters (http://www.guild-mach-knit.org.uk/index.html), there is a list of local groups in your area (see http://www.guild-mach-knit.org.uk/inyourarea/clubs.html).

You don't necessarily have to be a member to go along - the membership fee is quite low anyway - but they're great enthusiasts and will be able to give you practical help, demos and advice.

Some areas have tutors who will come and give you an hour's tuition on your own machine for a nominal sum (and a cuppa). There doesn't seem to be anyone in Hampshire, but I suggest you look at the list anyway(In Your Area/Individual Teaching)in case there's someone near.

The Guild also has contacts with people who can clean and service your machine and find you spare parts. Very useful!

Good luck!

·
Registered
149 Posts