Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:-( I am still new at knitting, I have a problem that I can't seem to solve My finished end it 3 to 4 inches shorter than the beginning. (this is a throw) I bound off very loosely
1 I have checked for dropped stitches (none)
2 I have checked folded up the beginning end and it seems the last 6 or so inches is where the problem might have happend but for the life of me I see nothing to where I may have gone wrong.
Please Help!!!!!!! New from Oregon

·
Premium Member
13,045 Posts
It's likely that as you knit over time your tension changed so that by the time you got to the end of your throw your stitches were tighter than when you began. That is something that will even out with time and practice. If you ended up with the right number of stitches then you most likely did nothing wrong - you just got more comfortable knitting and settled into a tension that was a little different than when you started. Don't get discouraged - the next one is sure to be better! :) Happy knitting!

·
Registered
12 Posts
:roll: I have done the same thing when makeing an afghan mine was narrower at one end then the other end. I laid mine out and looked to see where it started narrowing I unraveled the yarn to a couple rows past where it started narrowing then I counted to see if I had the right number of stitches if I didnt I would take out rows until I did. My mistake was once in a while I didnt work or lost the last stitch. So when I started knitting again every couple of rows I would make sure I had the right number of stitches when I finished both ends were the same. Dont know if this will help, but that is what my problem was. I hpe you find out where the problem is. Good luck p.s. I am from Oregon also. Have a beautiful day

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·