Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was talking to my daughter the other day and mentioned that I kept seeing posts for fancy knitting needles. I've been knitting for 50 years and told her that fancy things were nice, but if a person really wants to knit, they could knit with cheaper needles. She works for a drug/alcohol recovery place, and she said, "You're right, Mom. We had a patient who knitted. They took away her knitting needles because they were sharp and could be used as weapons. Later I saw a scarf she had knitted for another patient, but when I confronted her about having smuggled knitting needles, she told me she didn't have any. I told her I had SEEN a knitted scarf; she held up two pencils. She'd been knitting scarves with a pair of pencils." I just thought this was such a cool story about someone who is so addicted to knitting that she will knit with pencils!

·
Registered
41,373 Posts
Never underestimate the resourcefulness of a knitter.. I know needles are sharp... but I would think that kid's light plastic ones... not too thin.... would make a good knitting needle without danger.... I know what a good tool a craft can be for those overcoming adversities......

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hmmmm, I need to take a plane from Texas to Indiana to coach my daughter through childbirth and wondered if I could knit on the plane. Maybe I could- with pencils! Um, I think I need double pointed pencils!

·
Registered
5,452 Posts
Dreamweaver said:
Never underestimate the resourcefulness of a knitter.. I know needles are sharp... but I would think that kid's light plastic ones... not too thin.... would make a good knitting needle without danger.... I know what a good tool a craft can be for those overcoming adversities......