Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I've been knitting for over twenty five years. At first I took knitting classes just to have a night out away from my two babies. Then I fell in love with it and needles have been in my hands ever since. Two more babies later and many years have added countless knitting projects to my portfolio. My children are grown now and I have two grandkids, Mark age 4, and Layla age 2, who keep me inspired to knit new and interesting things. My grandson loves Thomas the Tank Engine, I have never been able to find a sweater with a train motif.....if I did I probably would be sorry! :( Sounds like a lot of work. Currently I am knitting chemo caps for my sister who is undergoing breast cancer treatment. I also just finished a pink poncho for her to wear during chemo sessions. I am inspired to knit a bunch and donate to Dana Farber, where she gets the best care. I have been living with thyroid cancer know for over two years, and Lupus. I have knitted up lots of hand warmers for myself over the years as well. Never a dull moment with our health problems but knitting has seen me through some tough times. It takes me out of my head and helps me focus on creating something beautiful and giving me a sense of purpose. I love it!

Attachments

·
Registered
72 Posts
It was very interesting to read your story - really. You have done wonderful knitting products. I think that it is good for our happiness to knit or do some other creative work. When you make them for your near persons it increases happiness. And when you knit you are happy. I wish you and your sister will be healthy soon! Thank you a lot!

·
Registered
2 Posts