Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been knitting and crocheting for several years. Lately on knitted washcloths I am seeing more and more of what appear to be stretched knit stitches throughout my work. They are random and occur in both continental and thrown knitting....mat be more in continental which I have just recently learned and which helps my hand pain. Any suggestions as to what I am doing wrong? Thanks!

Love this forum....read it every day!

·
Registered
4,735 Posts
It seems the stitch pattern appearance changes when I purl one row and knit one row. Apparently the tension changes with my purling and causes a ridge to appear.

A stretched stitch may be from you accidentally making a yarn over during your pattern and having extra yarn there, or have you maybe dropped a stitch?

It could be just the stitch pattern or even the yarn, is it nubby, changing thickness?

This mystery must be solved!

Lois

·
Registered
5,813 Posts
Since you have 2 issues, arthritis pain and a new technique, I would say either one or both is the culprit. Your tension is looser in some areas than in others. You're ending up with stitches that are too long. If it is the new technique, that will correct itself in time.

In the meantime, get out a crochet hook a little smaller than you would use on the weight you are knitting with. Take the loose stitch and wiggle the loose part over to the next stitch in the direction closest to an edge. Now wiggle the next stich, continue to end of row. The loose yarn can be hidden in a seam or by edging. :thumbup:

·
Registered
12,213 Posts