Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I heard that knitting the Portuguese way, is better for your hands. I would like to know, if you know about it. My wrist hurts whether I crochet or knit. Any suggestions is appreciated

Thank you,

Eva

·
Registered
7,116 Posts
Yes, I studied this Portugese method, too while trying to convert from English to the Continental method knitting. There's even GEEK knitting! LOL!!

Most fast knitters have little movement in their arms and fingers which would cause less tension over the body parts. I'm still studying which method to use and am thinking the Eastern continental method may be for me! LOL!!

Donna Rae

·
Registered
889 Posts
I have taken Andrea's class (http://andreawongknits.com/) and found it very similar to continental style. I have rhumatoid and osteo arthritis and knit Russian style (http://headwaterwool.com/hw_russian_knitting_technique.aspx). It is the least hand movement of any style I have found during my years of searching to find out about the way I knit (Grandma taught me). Instructors who watched me said it wouldn't work and I would show them completed items. They looked at me at the items and the general consensis was it worked but no one could tell me what I was doing or how. Headwater wool has great videos and an easy to follow instruction book. Juli in Central PA

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hi Eva, The Portuguese way is definetly easier on your arms and wrists - I have Parkinson's Disease and arthritis.