Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to pattern reading and think I'm asking an obvious question. I see now that the instructions are spaced in a certain way but when I read this first...I'll duplicate here:

Proceed in stocking st for 8 rows.
Inc 1st each end of needle on next and every following 6th row to 56 sts, then on every 8th row to 62 stitches.

I interpreted this as first I did the 8 Stock St rows ...Then I followed the increases on the 9th and following rows...Now I am thinking they wanted me to do the increases within the 8 rows.

then they did another space before the next set of instructions.
I'm doing sleeves so I will have to duplicate what I did but still wondered what you think I should have done. thanks all you wonderful smart knitters. My thinking was I was knitting as I read.
;-)

· Registered
45 Posts
you were right to knit the 8 rows of stocking st then increase on the 9th row. then you add 6 rows (row 15) and increase on that row. keep increasing on the 6th (add 6 rows to the last row worked) row until you have 56 stitches. Then add 8 rows to that last row number and increase on that row and each 8th row after that until you have the 62 stitches.
What I do is put a safety pin on the end of the row I made my last increase/decrease on and count rows until I'm at the one I need to do an increase or decrease on. Then I do the increase row and continue the same way until I have all the stitches I need.
Say you had 48 stitches on rows 1-8. then on row 9 you would have 50 stitches, row 15-52 stitches, row 21-54 stitches and so on till you have 56 stitches on row 27, then you start counting by 8's so row 35 would have 58 stitches, 43 would have 60 stitches etc.
It took me a while to figure it out too but my mom is a whiz at knitting so I was lucky.
Have a great time knitting!

· Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·