Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 140 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been knitting for many years and am used to using straight needles. I count rows when needed using one of those round stitch counter on the end of the needle. I am about to start a project using circular needles and was wondering how folks count the rows and stitches when there is no "end". Thanks.

·
Registered
231 Posts
I found a small chain from a key chain and threaded it though the round counter, then I used it as my marker (I was knitting in the round). It took a little getting use to, but it worked. I have also used the round counter on my circular needles when I was knitting back and forth on circular needles. You just have to watch that the counter doesn't slip off.

Charity Knitter

·
Registered
2,880 Posts
I either use paper to mark rows as I finish them or use a hand held stitch marker. If there is any kind of pattern repeat I find paper easier to keep track of where I am. I also use sticky notes attached to the pattern. It all depends on what I'm knitting.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the suggestions. My original thought was to use the round stitch counter and attach it to the work with a safety pin/stitch holder. I guess there is no specific knitting "tool" for this purpose.

·
Premium Member
12,965 Posts
Charity Knitter said:
I found a small chain from a key chain and threaded it though the round counter, then I used it as my marker (I was knitting in the round). It took a little getting use to, but it worked. I have also used the round counter on my circular needles when I was knitting back and forth on circular needles. You just have to watch that the counter doesn't slip off.

Charity Knitter