Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am brand new at this and it is my first visit. I am starting my third scarf and am afraid to go past the knit and purl stage. Does anyone have something they reccomend to get me into the more difficult stages?? I am afraid to go past the beginners patterns. thanks

· Registered
956 Posts
Hi Never2old2learn :lol:

There are 2 sts in knitting 1 is knit and the 2nd is purl, everything is either an increase or a decrease.

Can you knit and purl on the same row without increasing stitch numbers?
Do you know how to knit 2 sts together at the same time?
Do you know how to do a yarn over?

Don't worry it all sounds scary when you're new but you won't always be new and I'll be watching your back if you want me to.

Grace

· Registered
179 Posts
When I started over 20 years ago, I only knew how to knit and purl, and I found out that I knew much more than I gave myself credit for.
I picked up a simple paper pamphlet , a How To Knit book from the local dime store, and saw how to do an increase stitch, a decrease stitch, a Yo, etc. a buttonhole. and More! So fun!

· Registered
2 Posts
don't be afraid. if what you try doesn't work, you can just undo it and start over, one of the many great things about knitting. if i'm trying a new stitch or pattern, i usually grab some 'test yarn' from my stash that is similar in weight to the yarn i want to use and knit a swatch. i've found it worth the extra time it takes.

check youtube for great videos on knitting slip stitches and so on.

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·