Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to machine knitting, I have heard people say that you could knit Double knit on std machine using every other needle. I tried this on a swatch then gave it a tug and the stitches almost clicked into place and left a lot smaller swatch but looked very even and soft. Next step is to follow a simple pattern, but I don't really know about the number of needles etc. Or the tension swatch, I presume that I have to double the amount of sts but ? on rows.
If anyone could help I would be very grateful as I have a large stash of double knitting wool.

·
Registered
2,935 Posts
lillypit said:
I am fairly new to machine knitting, I have heard people say that you could knit Double knit on std machine using every other needle. I tried this on a swatch then gave it a tug and the stitches almost clicked into place and left a lot smaller swatch but looked very even and soft. Next step is to follow a simple pattern, but I don't really know about the number of needles etc. Or the tension swatch, I presume that I have to double the amount of sts but ? on rows.
If anyone could help I would be very grateful as I have a large stash of double knitting wool.
Do your tension swatch as normal eg cast on 60 st counting the out of work needles as stitches. Knit 30 rows and mark the 21st each side (1 will be out of work so hang thread on the loop between)knit another 30 rows. Measure between the waste yarn for the rows and measure between your marking. You will then know that 40 stitches measures X and 60 rows measures XX. The only drawback with this is that you will not be able to knit very wide pieces as you will in effect only be able to use 100 needles.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·