Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
  • Wondering how to use different site features? Please visit our FAQ. Still have questions? Post to our Community Help section for a speedy response.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, now this may sound a bit stupit but, I got 6 skeins of wool, I need to know if I have to rewind it into ball, I have never done this before. thanks. x

·
Registered
16,213 Posts
I think it depends on how it's wound to begin with. If it is a pull through skein, you don't have to rewind it; if it's a looped skein (for lack of a better word), you will. I usually do all mine anyway (even the pull throughs), because it lets me find any knots, bad places, etc. before I start knitting with it. I get really annoyed when I am knitting along and suddenly a knot or weak or bumpy place turns up.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oh thank you, I think I will rewind it like you do, and yes I,ve had those joins in wool before, you never know when their coming, maybe I should start to rewind all my wool, it would save me getting mad when it happens. thank you for replying. x

·
Registered
200 Posts
Sorlenna said:
I think it depends on how it's wound to begin with. If it is a pull through skein, you don't have to rewind it; if it's a looped skein (for lack of a better word), you will. I usually do all mine anyway (even the pull throughs), because it lets me find any knots, bad places, etc. before I start knitting with it. I get really annoyed when I am knitting along and suddenly a knot or weak or bumpy place turns up.
I rather wish I'd thought of that, but it didn't occur to me, and I've just found a random knot in my yarn. Grr...

·
Premium Member
81,181 Posts
donnameg said:
Hi everyone, now this may sound a bit stupid but, I got 6 skeins of wool, I need to know if I have to rewind it into ball, I have never done this before. thanks. x