Knitting and Crochet Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
39,512 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to most of this and I am about to take a class to make my first sweater; a summer cardigan. It is a splurge for me to take the class so I'm looking to find good yarn without the high price to boot. What fiber content/blend would be best for a summer weight short sleeve cardigan. Help please. The pattern we will be using requires worsted weight so all I need is to figure out the best fiber content.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Lily yarns has patterns for summer-wear sweaters/tops with their sugar 'n' cream yarn - 100% cotton worsted weight. I think bamboo, soy, and silk are also summer friendly.

·
Registered
7,116 Posts
From my knit summer tops book (Annie's Attic) (cool comfort is a snap with these 8 stylish top)), they call for:

French Vanilla #98 Micro spun art #910 by Lion Brand or WW yarn

Peacock#19 Peaches & Creme WW or cotton worsted yarn
*** P & C isn't readily available but there's some on
Ebay, etc. Sugar and Cream, which is a little
thicker, perhaps, than P & C is now available at
Wal-Mart, etc.

Shocking pink #31 Peaches & Creme worsted yarn or cotton worsted

Denim#28 Country cotton cabled art #940 or cotton worsted

Sultan Red #95 Country cotton cabled art #940 or cotton worsted

White/Pearl #1P Pearl Lustersheen Art #95P or WOVEN SPORT YARN

Aunt Lydia's Denim Art. 151 or cotton worsted

In a flash, I'd consider using a 50-50% cotton/acrylic blend such as Baby Bee's; They come in lucious colors, too and are available in non-baby colors as well. Affordable price, too.

Hobby Lobby carries this brand in store and online. Their 40% off one regularly priced item, in-store coupon just arrived, too; It's good through the 19th.

They have a newsletter you can sign up for, also on their .com site.

Keep up posted on your project, please and good luck!!

Donna Rae
~~~~~~

settleg said: